elegantdanax.blogg.se

Ghost network boot usb iso
Ghost network boot usb iso













ghost network boot usb iso
  1. #Ghost network boot usb iso drivers
  2. #Ghost network boot usb iso driver
  3. #Ghost network boot usb iso windows

You'll want to follow along with the faq link that I posted earlier to get the drivers you need. At the risk of annoying people I'm just going to post the config and autoexec here. The config.sys adds the menuing option to allow you to choose among different network drivers. We don't have many unused machines at any given time so I've found it easier to stick with the multi image system. I realize that I can reduce that further but haven't had the time to test it. Right now we have an image per machine type. Thanks for the re-welcome though! - View image here:. I've been a frequent visitor of the site and lurking the forums since 1998. Anything that is cheap and saves time is always welcome.Īctually this is a secondary handle.

ghost network boot usb iso

We have a small environment so there's room for experimentation. If I wanted to get really crazy I could throw the system images I have on a large (2 GB) USB drive and do a Ghost that way. Ideally I think I'd like to have a RIS server but this will cut out a significant amount of time and annoyance until then.

#Ghost network boot usb iso windows

I looked into PXE very briefly, but haven't read about any solutions other than a Windows server OS which we can't afford until next fiscal year. This thread was inspiration to see where I was screwing up before. I switched it to use the MS-DOS bootable files that are created when formatting a bootable floppy in XP. For whatever reason, the, msdos.sys, and io.sys that I am successfully using on the USB drive were not working on the CD. I finally got the bootable cd working earlier this evening. Can you put that on a PXE server?ĭim - The USB drive was partly to see if I could do it (and it turned out to be easier than the cd), and also for speed and durability. I am still trying to polish off the bootable cd so I can boot our older GX110, 150, and 240s without the stupid floppies. I have found that I can use the USB boot with Optiplex GX260, 270, and 280.

ghost network boot usb iso

We are almost entirely standardized on Dells. We had something like 10 sets of disks but it turns out that we only use 5 different network drivers. You can edit them according to your environment. I can send you my Autoexec and config if you want to check them out. Check out if you want to soldier ahead on your own.

#Ghost network boot usb iso driver

I started by following the instructions from a Ghost 8 bootable CD FAQ, and then customized them to eliminate the CD driver portion. We had been using the boot floppies to connect to a Ghost multicast session. The USB drive is crazy fast compared to the floppies. At this point I have a perfectly working bootable USB flash drive, and an almost working bootable CD. I've spent a good amount of time working on a solution to the annoying 2 floppy disk system with Ghost 8.















Ghost network boot usb iso